Berret’s Seafood Restaurant and Taphouse Grill, located in Merchants Square, one block from Historic Colonial Williamsburg, occupies a building that, beginning in the late 1930’s, was home to Person’s Williamsburg Ford Dealership and Esso station.
Converted to a restaurant by its origininal owner Berret Violette in 1983, Berret’s was purchased in December of 1984 by Oyster Limited Partnership.
Chosen by locals as “Best Seafood Restaurant” in Williamsburg for over ten years, Berret’s offers two dining choices in one convenient location. The Restaurant specializes in regional seafoods prepared with both traditional and contemporary recipes, an extensive wine list and locally-brewed beers.
The Taphouse Grill focuses on hard-to-find and unique foods, wines, beers, music, and art of modern-day Virginia. This casual, outdoor setting has been a favorite gathering place for locals, students from the College of William and Mary, and visitors to the Historic Area for the last two decades.
TIP: Berret’s is closed on Mondays in January and February. The Taphouse Grill closes during the winter months from November through March.